Still Growing…

2014 Still Growing...1

1 Peter 2:2 as newborn babes, desire the pure milk of the word, that you may grow thereby, 3 if indeed you have tasted that the Lord is gracious. 4 Coming to Him as to a living stone, rejected indeed by men, but chosen by God and precious, 5 you also, as living stones, are being built up a spiritual house, a holy priesthood, to offer up spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.

The Lord has been so kind to me and I think I owe it to him to keep growing closer to him. I want to know more about how to please him and I know I have to keep searching his word. I cannot get enough of it. I want to grow and I want to help others to grow, too.

Since my teen years, I began to realize I liked watching things grow, plants and caterpillars. I wanted to see them turn into butterflies, just watch the process. I liked to propagate from leaf and stem cuttings, but not so much from seeds. I got so much joy from the nurturing process, just watching things grow. Who knew that years later the same desires and joys would be the crux of my ministry to others in the name of Jesus?

The Lord knew what he was doing even before I was created in my mother’s womb. Jeremiah 1:5 “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart (I sanctified you; I consecrated you) and appointed you as my prophet to the nations.

Psalm 139:13 … you created my inmost being (formed my inward parts); you knit me together (wove me) in my mother’s womb.

2014 Still Growing...2This past week as I was watering house plants, I mused over the bloom of my snake plant. I had taken the first picture a few months ago and look at the growth in a few months. I was feeling wonderful. My mother nurtured this snake plant when I was growing up. The first time I saw it blossom was last year. The smaller plant grew from a little piece given to me by my dear friend, Barbara Grace; I’ve nurtured it since the 1970’s. I’ve rooted a piece for her daughter to have. My mother and Barbara have been resting in the bosom of Jesus for quite a while now… just thinking about how patient God is with me. Am I growing and blossoming in the soil I’m in?

2 Peter 3:17 …beware lest you also fall from your own steadfastness, being led away with the error of the wicked; 18 but grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To Him be the glory both now and forever. Amen.

…and so I want to worship the Lord and get as close as I can to where he wants me to be and doing what he wants me to do. I don’t ever want to stop growing closer to him and I want others to want to know him, too. And so I sit with him and walk with him and talk with him and then I just sit some more. Listening. Being. Enjoying. Basking in his love. Who knew that watering flowers would conjure up these thoughts? The Lord, who knew before I was even born! I want to remain FAVORED BY THE FATHER.

And so we grow … grow in grace, which is God’s special favor. www.barbaraafbrehon.com

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Grow until you’re

rooted and grounded

like this mighty oak.

 

Leave a Reply

